If you realize that not a single “thing” can sustain you by itself, then it is easy to see that having most things in moderation is healthy.  When I hear somebody use the word need in place of want/like/desire, I see this all over again.  I don’t at all take for granted that which I “need.”  That which sustains me: air, water, food, shelter, in that order, as well as relationships, which are for other posts.  Anything beyond that certainly qualifies as somewhat of a luxury or a privilege.  There is nothing wrong with any of it so long as it doesn’t ruin my quality of living.  Even the last two in the needs list can move to the wants list.  That said, one thing I like to do is watch the food network.  I like to be as knowledgeable as possible about what I am putting into my body.  I don’t watch enough to qualify it as an addiction, by any stretch of the imagination.  I understand that feeding the temple doesn’t require intricate, expensive or unsustainable preparation.  Feeding the craving can.  And occasionally I like to indulge.  I probably will put some recipes on my blog in the future.  They won’t be anything that I just copy out of a book, but those that I have changed to suit my taste or its ease of preparation.  Example:  banana bread.  I have never been a huge fan of many banana bread recipes I have tried.  Over the years, I tinkered with the recipe to suit me.  Because I have changed the recipe many times, I may post that recipe first.  Banana bread certainly doesn’t qualify as something which sustains me.  Nor as sustainable.  For many, wheat for the creation of flour is not a local commodity.  Bananas don’t grow in North America.  Sugar, along with the wheat, are highly refined products.  But I like banana bread, and so I make it on occasion.

